Conviction: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice

Conviction, a satirical, original sequel to Jane Austen s timeless classic Pride and Prejudice, reveals the romantic destiny of Georgiana Darcy The author, however, does not rest on the laurels of Austen she introduces an entirely new cast of characters, including an ambitious soldier, a wistful vicar, a flirtatious abolitionist, and an ordinary curate The fates of thesConviction, a satirical, original sequel to Jane Austen s timeless classic Pride and Prejudice, reveals the romantic destiny of Georgiana Darcy The author, however, does not rest on the laurels of Austen she introduces an entirely new cast of characters, including an ambitious soldier, a wistful vicar, a flirtatious abolitionist, and an ordinary curate The fates of these characters intertwine as each struggles to find the conviction to live out his or her own calling while confronting issues of loyalty, courage, faith, and love Conviction is not a novel merely for fans of Pride and Prejudice, but for all who take part in the ordinary struggles of humanity.
Conviction A Sequel to Jane Austen s Pride and Prejudice Conviction a satirical original sequel to Jane Austen s timeless classic Pride and Prejudice reveals the romantic destiny of Georgiana Darcy The author however does not rest on the laurels of Aus

  • Title: Conviction: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice
  • Author: Skylar Hamilton Burris
  • ISBN: 9780977445233
  • Page: 256
  • Format: Paperback
  • 1 thought on “Conviction: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice”

    1. The wealthy and accomplished Georgiana Darcy has made her debut into society and has attracted quite an abundance of suitors. Some of these suitors are mostly attracted to her fortune and connections while others find her sweet and innocent disposition the main attraction. Under Mr. Darcy's watchful and protective eye, Georgiana is courted by a variety of men, from politicians and abolitionists, to clergymen and soldiers. Mr. Darcy better be on his guard because Georgiana seems to have blossomed [...]

    2. Find the enhanced version of this and other reviews at: flashlightcommentary.Despite reading several of them, I've never been a particular fan of re-tellings of Pride and Prejudice as they almost never live up to the original. Still, Skylar Hamilton Burris has come nearer than most with her first solo piece.I've seen several film versions of the novel but I think the 2005 portrayal of Georgiana Darcy by Tazmin Merchant is my favorite. The young actress captured the shy innocent child seen in Aus [...]

    3. While this book isn't the same quality as Pride and Prejudice, it's still a good read. You have several new characters to enjoy. Including Major Talbot, the vicar, Mr. Markwood, and his younger brother. There's even a curate.The romance centers around Georgiana Darcy. She has a bevvy of suitors to choose from. Her shyness prevents her from really becoming engaged with any one gentleman though.Ultimately she does become engaged to someone after a short engagement after a short courtship. The ques [...]

    4. This book earned 5-stars because I had to read it all in one sitting. Yes, I was a little miffed that poor Colonel Fitzwilliam was shuffled aside in favor of new characters to Jane Austen's world, but I thoroughly enjoyed the vicar Jacob Markwood, his abolitionist brother Aaron Markwood, though I think Major Talbot could just have easily been named Colonel Fitzwilliam, no offense to the author. The book closely follows the story of how does Georgiana find her happiness after Darcy and Elizabeth [...]

    5. This P&P continuation centers mostly on Georgina Darcy. Georgina makes her debut in society and attracts a number of suitors. Some suitors are mostly attracted to her fortune and connections while others find her sweet and innocent disposition the main attraction.The novel was well written and very original. Ms. Burris uses a satirical and sardonic voice in her writing.

    6. Burris has written a delightful story about Georgiana, Kitty and a cast of new characters that draws the reader in and creates more depth to the beloved classic Pride and Prejudice. One of my favorites that I re-read often.

    7. Probably closer to 3 1/2 stars, but I gave it the benefit of the doubt. One thing that's not clear from the blurb on the back cover is that most of the book is mostly about Georgiana Darcy, but it's well done. I think Burris represents the characters well and obviously admires them. Her dialogue is fairly good and shows the kind of relationship I imagine for Darcy and Elizabeth. I think she also did a good job of showing both society at that time and her new characters in a good light. It is cer [...]

    8. Anyone who's ever written fanfic, and especially Jane Austen fanfic, will be interested to know that fanfic CAN get published. I read this when it was originally posted on a fan site, and it was so exciting to see it in print! It's the story of Georgiana's choice to marry a minister over a more "connected" suitor, and it really is a rated G romance. Because he's a minister, there are Christian references, but they're done in moderation. As a Jew, I appreciated the modest approach, and I just glo [...]

    9. An interesting spin off. As far as the original characters few play any lead role. Much of the story is born from that moment when the new Vicker comes to Pemberly. This is an interesting story of misbegotten love, broken hearts, guileless admiration masked as love and many other fashions and passions of love. This period was well reliant on the word of the clergy to steer the flock and the new Vicker sets a fresh trend for his flock (both rich and poor). As the story tends to revolve a bit arou [...]

    10. This was like most of the other Jane Austen-inspired books I've read, clean and free of supernatural elements. I'd give it a little better than a 3 because there was some sparkle to it. It's right about the midway mark of all the Jane Austen fanfiction I've read. It ends after Georgiana's marriage, but doesn't leave out the romance still clinging to her brother's marriage. There are bedroom scenes with both married couples, but no open-door sex.

    11. Can't wait to order this! It sounds so good. I like the cover on this one better than the color illustrated cover. For Christmas My hubby & I ordered my 12 year old daughter "The Complete Novels of Jane Austen" (The Wordsworth Library Collection- hard back) She has been devouring her books, and we've been watching the movies together-sweet!I want to add this to her collection, and of course read it myself!!!

    12. I like this P&P sequel more than I have enjoyed others. This one tells the story of Georgiana Darcy's attempts to find love, but still features plenty of Lizzie and Darcy, with whom she lives. I liked the love triangle that Burris created, and was happy with Georgiana's eventual choice of the thoughtful, sensitive, intelligent minister for her husband.

    13. This is much more than a sequel to P & P. Great story and with the characters and some new. This book is P & P with God to me. Its a great story and involves each character's relationship with God also. I like how Darcy's sister is portrayed in this.I just bought other books by this author today. Can't wait to read!!!

    14. Unsatisfying for some charactersThe ending was uncharacteristic with the entire theme of the book, true love can find everyone. It was disappointing that one character, for no other reason than being immature, must marry below her expectations and "learn to love" her husband. I was very unsatisfied with this ending.

    15. This was actually a nice sequel to Pride and Prejudice if you're as into Jane Austen as I am, but can still get over the fact that it's so not Jane Austen. An enjoyable book, but nothing spectacular.

    16. As with many of the self-published e-books, this had a number of formatting errors that were somewhat frustrating. As a Pride & Prejudice sequel, it was OK, although I would recommend a number which are freely available on various websites ahead of this.

    17. Burris did quite well by not trying to change the relationships of the Darcy's, the Bingley's or even the Wickham'sI for one appreciated the take on Gorgianna's and Kitty's charactersGood read for the P&P nuts :)

    18. This is a sequel to Pride & Prejudice and all about Georgiana. I rather enjoyed the book. Some of the characters are in the book and we learn about more as we go along. There are some very funny parts that makes the whole book wonderful. I am glad I read it.

    19. I enjoyed this book. Not amazingbut still fun to read. It is one of the few Pride and Prejudice spin-offs that I could actually finish reading, although it is pretty much a separate story from P&P--almost no focus on the original characters.

    20. I liked this sequel. I think it was good and possibly what Georgiana would have done had Jane written it.

    21. The story focuses on the maturing process of Georgiana Darcy and her ensuing suitors with various personalities and intentions.

    22. Interesting with the historical background, but rather disappointing in the 'acceptance' of what women had to accept as their lot. Have to admit to a lot of descriptive skimming.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *