Cleo Edison Oliver, Playground Millionaire

Cleopatra Edison Oliver has always been an entrepreneur, just like her inspiration, successful businesswoman Fortune A Davies So when Cleo s fifth grade teacher assigns her class a Passion Project, Cleo comes up with her best business idea yet the finest tooth pulling company in town With the help of her best friend Caylee, a Nerf gun, her dad s tablet, and her patCleopatra Edison Oliver has always been an entrepreneur, just like her inspiration, successful businesswoman Fortune A Davies So when Cleo s fifth grade teacher assigns her class a Passion Project, Cleo comes up with her best business idea yet the finest tooth pulling company in town With the help of her best friend Caylee, a Nerf gun, her dad s tablet, and her patented Persuasion Power, Cleo s Quick and Painless Tooth Removal Service starts to take off.But even the best made plans, by the best CEOs, go awry sometimes A minor barfing incident during a tooth pulling operation causes Cleo to lose customers Caylee, initially enthusiastic about the business, grows distant as Cleo neglects their friendship in lieu of getting customers And when a mean classmate makes fun of Cleo for being adopted, everything comes crashing down Will she be able to rescue her business, salvage her friendship with Caylee, and discover that her true home has been here all along
Cleo Edison Oliver Playground Millionaire Cleopatra Edison Oliver has always been an entrepreneur just like her inspiration successful businesswoman Fortune A Davies So when Cleo s fifth grade teacher assigns her class a Passion Project Cl

  • Title: Cleo Edison Oliver, Playground Millionaire
  • Author: Sundee T. Frazier
  • ISBN: 9780545822350
  • Page: 449
  • Format: Hardcover
  • 1 thought on “Cleo Edison Oliver, Playground Millionaire”

    1. Cleopatra Edison Oliver is a budding entrepreneur and rising 5th grader. She is in awe of Fortuna A. Davies, an Oprah-like business woman with her own talk show. Cleo is constantly coming up with new businesses and ideas, and they are often successful. From selling avocados off the tree in her yard to pulling teeth with a Nerf gun, Cleo's ideas draw a lot of attention. And she always donates part of her earnings to those who are less fortunate, just like her idol. She just needs to work on askin [...]

    2. 213 pages. Fifth grade story of a girl going into business. I read two chapters and it was pretty good. Recommended. I might read the whole thing later on…

    3. Just an interesting little story. Not really impressed. Not sure I like the money-centered personality of the main character.

    4. ARC from Young Adult Books Central and reviewed there.Cleo is starting fifth grade, but her real passion is starting businesses. Her idol is Fortune A. Davies, who has a television show about entrepreneurs, and Cleo takes her advice to heart. She sells avocados from her back yard trees, and everything is a business opportunity. When she realizes that many of her classmates have loose teeth, she comes up with a fairly painless way to remove them using a Nerf gun, and figures that there is a lot o [...]

    5. On the surface, fifth grader Cleo Edison Oliver, has it going on. After all, she's smart, determined, brave, and filled with many great ideas about how to make money. Determined to follow in the footsteps of television personality, Fortune A. Davies, a successful businesswoman, Cleo sells avocadoes from the family's trees and even invents a nearly painless tooth removal system relying on her little brother's Nerf gun. Surely, she deserves credit for her great ideas. However, things often don't g [...]

    6. We're always on the hunt for quality books in the beginning reader/ early chapter book categories. It's tough to find engaging stories for that age group, let alone diverse ones. And here's Cleo, an African-American-Filipino 5th grade entrepreneur. She's bubbly, she's full of business ideas, and she's determined to follow in the footsteps of her idol, Fortune Davies. Fortune is a TV host mashup of Oprah and Suze Orman. So Cleo creates a tooth-pulling business for a school project. It's all fun a [...]

    7. Cleo idolizes a brilliant business woman and television star, Fortune A. Davis. Cleo’s initials even spell out CEO, so she is destined to become a business success, right? After several smaller schemes don’t pan out, she stumbles on to the perfect money making plan, charging kids to painlessly remove loose baby teeth with her brother’s Nerf gun. What could go wrong? This realistic fiction story will appeal to middle grade readers with a like-able heroine, a crazy scheme with some gross out [...]

    8. Cleo aspires to be a successful business woman like her idol Fortune Davies who hosts an inspirational TV show. Cleo sells avocados from the family's tree, starts a quick-and-painless tooth-pulling business and even changes her middle name to Edison so her initials can be CEO. But it's not easy being in business especially when it becomes too much of a priority and complicated emotions cloud her vision. Cleo is a mixed-race child who is adopted into a diverse family. She has issues that are fami [...]

    9. This was a fresh fun book about a spunky girl whose mind is full of ideas in starting a business. From selling avocados to pulling teeth, Cleo will find a clever way to market her skills. Readers will cheer for Cleo as she deals with the ups and downs of life. Caring and supportive parents help Cleo and her brothers as they learn how to deal with issues of abandonment and self worth in a positive way. Along the journey, Cleo learns a thing or two about friendship and responsibility. A real treat [...]

    10. Charming, funny, fast-paced realistic fiction, perfect for fans of Beverly Cleary, Julia Alvarez, Jennifer L. Holm, Jeanne Birdsall, Nikki Grimes, and similar writers. Cleo springs to life off the page - a whirlwind of energy and ideas - and her (mis)adventures will surely entertain. Highly recommended as a classroom readaloud or book club selection as there is ample material for discussion of what it means to be a good friend, what success looks like, etc.

    11. She makes anything into a entrepreneurial opportunity! This is a short book for the amazing number of themes addressed within it.Themes:familyadoption & foster caremultiracial backgroundsknowing you're worth somethingfriendship divorcefantastic, out-of-the-box teachersright vs. wrong

    12. Cleo is the quintessential entrepreneur, always starting new businesses as a way to make money and emulate her idol, self-made business woman Fortune A Davies. She's also adopted, and working on coping with not knowing her birth mother. There is also the requisite best friend drama. It was a cute book.

    13. Delightful tale of a very spunky fifth grader who comes up with a way to make money. Of course, all does not go smoothly but Cleo and her friends are great problem solvers. Students will enjoy her adventures at school. This even lends itself to a class read aloud with chapters that tell a tale and leave the student wanting to hear more.

    14. I'm kind of lukewarm about this book. Cleo is a young adoptee who has a passion for business. Her ideas in the book are comical, like her teeth removal business. The book was a little too sweet for me. Maybe I have been reading too many depressing books with major problem in the story. Would like to see what others think of this story. I will be adding this to my collection at my library.

    15. I really like how the girl (Cleo Edison Oliver) is adopted. I also enjoy how she admires a buisness woman. Cleo experiences trouble with friendships (namely Caylee, her best friend and buisness partner).

    16. A good intro to a new series focused on entrepreneurship, which also manages to address adoption, economics in a family capacity, family dynamics and a host of other things without seeming jam-packed full of lessons. Cleo is a very dynamic, spunky character, except for her obsession with money.

    17. Qwerty but fun , a bit far fetched but what is fiction?! I like the side message of adoption and fitting in where you get in.

    18. Cute and entertaining story about an enterprising elementary schooler. Very memorable scene at a park involving a tooth-pulling scheme and a bout of the flu.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *