Poisoned Profits: The Toxic Assault on Our Children

In this shocking and sobering book, two fearless journalists directly and definitively link industrial toxins to the current rise in childhood disease and death In the tradition of Silent Spring, Poisoned Profits is a landmark investigation, an eye opening account of a country that prizes money over children s health.With indisputable data, Philip Shabecoff and Alice ShabIn this shocking and sobering book, two fearless journalists directly and definitively link industrial toxins to the current rise in childhood disease and death In the tradition of Silent Spring, Poisoned Profits is a landmark investigation, an eye opening account of a country that prizes money over children s health.With indisputable data, Philip Shabecoff and Alice Shabecoff reveal that the children of baby boomers the first to be raised in a truly toxified world have higher rates of birth defects, asthma, cancer, autism, and other serious illnesses than previous generations In piercing case histories, the authors identify the culprit as corporate pollution Here are the stories of such places as Dickson, Tennessee, where babies were born with cleft lips and palates after landfill chemicals seeped into the water, and Port Neches, Texas, where so many graduates of a high school near synthetic rubber and chemical plants contracted cancer that the school was nicknamed Leukemia High The danger to our children isn t just in the outside world, though The Shabecoffs provide evidence that our homes are now infested with everything from dangerous flame retardants in crib mattresses to harmful plastic softeners in teething rings to antibiotics and arsenic in chicken additives that are absorbed by growing and physically vulnerable kids as well as by pregnant women Compounding the problem are chemical corporations that sabotage investigations and regulations, a government that refuses to police these companies, and corporate hired scientists who keep pertinent secrets massaged with skewed data of their own.Poisoned Profits also demonstrates how people are fighting back, whether through grassroots parents groups putting pressure on politicians, the rise of ecotheology in the pulpits of formerly indifferent churches, or the new green chemistry being practiced in labs to replace bad elements with good The Shabecoffs also include helpful tips on reducing risks to children in how they eat and play, and in how parents clean and maintain their homes.Powerful, unflinching, and eminently readable, Poisoned Profits is a wake up call that is bound to inspire talk and force change.
Poisoned Profits The Toxic Assault on Our Children In this shocking and sobering book two fearless journalists directly and definitively link industrial toxins to the current rise in childhood disease and death In the tradition of Silent Spring Pois

  • Title: Poisoned Profits: The Toxic Assault on Our Children
  • Author: Philip Shabecoff Alice Shabecoff
  • ISBN: 9781400064304
  • Page: 315
  • Format: Hardcover
  • 1 thought on “Poisoned Profits: The Toxic Assault on Our Children”

    1. Still not finished reading this, but had to return it to the library after 2 renewals. I would recommend this book to anyone, but I URGE parents or those who may be thinking of becoming parents to read it. It provides a heaping amount of evidence that big corporations have been creating an epidemic of disease and illness in our country since the start of the industrial revolution. The baby boomers are probably the first generation to be affected by it, but they are probably not even aware of it. [...]

    2. Have you wondered why there seems to be an epidemic of serious childhood illnesses, like cancer, asthma and birth defects, in America? It has a lot to do with the huge increase, over the past 50 years, of toxic chemicals dumped into the environment. This book gives the details.There are a number of towns all over the country, ranging from Dickson, Tennessee, to Pittsfield, Massachusetts, to Toms River, New Jersey, suffering much higher than normal numbers of severe childhood illnesses. Each town [...]

    3. This is a very good look at how health is effected by industry, government and our own ignorance. The problem I had with the book in total is that it does not breakdown poisons by category. The authors mention both chemicals and heavy metals but lump them together in on subject of environment. Otherwise, the book is very informative and enlightening.

    4. Hmmm.Looks like something that's only going to make me MORE paranoidWell, I didn't get half way through it before it was due back at the library. I could have renewed, but I didn't. It was well-written. But it was kind of making me feel somewhat hopeless. And like, no matter what one does, our environment is still harmful.

    5. The more I know the more psycho and paranoid I become about my life and family and the toxins that around us and harming our bodies. Educate yourself! This is a good read with lots of data and research!

    6. An amazing book about an ongoing outrage leading to tragedy after tragedy. Everyone who cares about children should read this book and take action to protect those children, our planet and our future.

    7. this is a quality piece of scaremongering that I enjoyed reading, and I would recommend it to anyone--from those who are already scared an appropriate amount to those who are not yet scared at all.

    8. This book is an eye-opening expose of the growing amounts of toxins that we, especially our children, are being exposed to in daily life.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *